The Director

Director In-charge -Suresh Sharma


Born in 1959, Prof. Suresh Sharma completed his education in Lucknow. In 1982, he got his diploma in dramatics from Bhartendu Natya Academy, Lucknow. In 1985, he graduated from National School of Drama, New Delhi with specialization in acting. Soon afterwards he joined ‘Sambhav’, a Delhi based theatre group, and acted in many of its prestigious productions.

In 1987-88, he established the first non-governmental theatre repertory in Mandi, a district of Himachal Pradesh. From 1996-98 for a period of two years, he worked as Artistic Director of Sri Ram Centre for Performing Arts, Delhi. In the year 1998, he established the first non–governmental Residential Theatre Academy in Mandi, Himachal Pradesh.

Prof. Sharma has been felicitated by Sahitya Kala Parishad for his acting skillsa. In 1988-89 Sangeet Natak Academy awarded ‘Mohana’ a play written and directed by Prof. Sharma as the best play under their ‘Young Director’s Scheme’. He has acted in more than thirty plays with various directors and has experience of working with almost all the eminent directors of India. Besides directing plays, Prof. Sharma has also done the very first Hindi translation of the book Stanislavsky System under the title ‘Stanislavsky ke Abhinay Siddhant’.

Prof. Sharma joined the National School of Drama in August 1999 as Chief of NSD Repertory Company and is presently Director In-charge of the School.

Previous Directors

  1. Shri Satu Sen – 1959-61
  2. Shri E. Alkazi – 1962-77
  3. Shri B.V.Karanth – 1977-82
  4. Prof. B.M.Shah – 1982-84
  5. Prof. Mohan Maharishi – 1984-86
  6. Shri Ratan Thiyam – 1987-88
  7. Prof. Kirti Jain – 1988-95
  8. Prof. Ram Gopal Bajaj – 1995-Sept.2001
  9. Prof.Devendra Raj Ankur – 2001-July 3 2007
  10. Dr. Anuradha Kapur – 2007 – April 2013
  11. Prof. Waman Kendre – 2013 – Sep 2018

Theater Gallery

News Updates

NSD Location

National School of Drama
Bahawalpur House, Bhagwandas Road, New Delhi - 110 001
Tel - 011-23389402

Website Last Updated on Friday, April 23, 2021